Two groups added to NZ terrorism list

Two groups have been added to the list of designated terrorist entities, under New Zealand‘s anti-terrorism laws.

Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern said both groups had planned and conducted violent terrorist acts. Photo: RNZ / Rebekah Parsons-King;

Those groups are the are Indonesian-based Jamaah Anshrout Daulah and Maute Group, in the Philippines.

Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern said both had been responsible for planning and conducting violent terrorist acts against both government and civilian targets in Indonesia and the Philippines respectively.

These attacks have resulted in targeted and indiscriminate killing of civilians, including foreigners, she said.

As a result of these designations, Ms Ardern said any assets the groups may have in New Zealand would be frozen.

“It will be a criminal offence to carry out property or financial transactions with them.”

“Regardless of whether a group is designated a terrorist entity, fundraising for, recruiting, and harbouring terrorists are criminal offences in New Zealand”, Ms Ardern said.

New Zealand now has 20 terrorist entities designated under New Zealand law.

Further details can be found on the